Quick status update.

TL;DR version:

Due to some circumstances, for the next four to five days, i’ll only be releasing 1 chapter per day.

 

If you’re not interested in reading about the life of some dude, thats pretty much all you need to know. If not, then read ahead.





























 

“Who cares about announcements and status updates?! Give me my chapters!!!”

Yeah, i’ve been there and i’ve felt the same as you do, who cares about updates? i always thought the translators were overreacting when saying they were sick; i could just say nothing and release a chapter a day. But since i’ve made a promise (in case you dont know, its “2+ chapters per day until i reach chapter 400”), i feel like someone might feel the need to know the reason im letting you down for the next couple days.

Ok, so lets get started with my soap opera-like life.

Earlier today, as i was working on chapter… what was it? 340? I got a call from my parents telling me my nephew was very sick, so i rushed over there. If you’re wondering about his parents, my brother is a drug addict and my sister-in-law is just a teenage mom. They dont care about the kids (yeah, they have 2 kids already) and its me or my parents most of the time the ones taking care of them.

Anyway, when i got there my nephew was boiling with fever, just laying in the bed without moving. He’s the sweetest boy, im sure everyone says that but i truly believe it and it totally broke my heart when he looked into my eyes and asked me “Am i going to die?”.

They told me they took him to the doctor earlier today (well, yesterday since right now its past 3am in the morning) and i checked the medicine he prescribed him and i was both shocked and pissed off. The doctor gave him shots of basically pretty fucking strong medicine for adults (i checked with my personal doctor over the phone and he was baffled) and also medicine for every kind of infection you could think of, like throwing gum and see what sticks, well, just like 3 but still, hes just a 3 year old kid.

Anyway, i took him to the hospital, since by that time it was already almost midnight and after a couple hours there, and some correct medicine now hes a little better, at the very least he could finally fall asleep.

And that bring us here.

For the next couple days i’ll be taking care of him, im sure it wont be hard but still, i wont have that much free time to translate. I could just take a few days off of translating but i made a commitment and although my nephew is more important than anything in the world, i still want to fulfill that promise with you guys of daily chapters. And also, now i really need to find a job since that unexpected medical emergency costed me a decent portion of my savings so in these days i’ll also try to find some kind of job. But dont worry, im sure everything will work out in the end.

And so, just for these next days it’ll be one chapter per day, after that, im confident i can continue with 2+ per day until i reach chapter 400.

If you read until here, then you have my thanks and i’d appreciate your thoughts towards my nephew getting better.

P.S. Yeah, i know what you think, but we dont get to chose our family.

I might delete this post after a few hours.

41 thoughts on “Quick status update.

  1. any one has a issue just ignore them, 1 chapter a day is still better than what we get at volare so don’t stress. Though seriously i don’t think anyone will mind if you take time of for your family

    Like

  2. o.0 I hope things get better soon.

    The odd part is that im reading this while having a bit of fever due to weather changes (happens a lot) and im out of Ibuprofeno… should go to sleep not read.

    Like

  3. dude 1 a day is a lot, and i miss read 1 in 5 days
    if demand more than that
    that person need a live
    btw many translate WN with realease 1 a month
    just keep like this never ever give promise to random dude like us

    Like

  4. I hope your nephew recovers soon. Family is more important and I think it’s safe to say that all the readers are hoping for your nephew’s speedy recovery.
    Once again thanks for taking up RtW and I hope you have nice day. Cheers!

    Like

  5. As long you don’t fall into the same pattern as Rox has (making promises he can’t keep), you will be golden. Convey reasons for delays and adjust chapter counts accordingly and the great majority of readers will understand and support you. Keep up the solid work.

    Like

  6. I’m wishing for the fast recovery of your nephew. I can totally relate with you. Family members especially immediate ones are the most important thing for me too more than anything else. Btw, I just happened to come across your TL this day and I’m really thankful for picking up this novel. Thank you so much and once again I hope your nephew recovers ASAP.

    Like

  7. “Am i going to die?” – Just for that his parents deserve a straight punch to the face.
    If they aren’t able to take care of their kids properly then they shoudn’t be the ones raising them.
    Take good care of your nephew in the future, too.
    I’ll stop being meddlesome and throwing around my onesided opinion right now.

    Your update rate is already pretty high, so I don’t mind.
    Keeping promises is important, but family is even more important than that 🙂
    I hope your nephew recovers soon.

    Like

  8. Bruh. Well thanks for keeping us updated, and good on you for that quick and proper response to the situation. Idk what I would’ve done if it were me. 1 chapter a day is all we really look forward to, so this isn’t hurting us at all, don’t worry about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks for the update and I hope ur nephew get better as soon as possible. Damn I hate drugs. Ilegal drugs destroys friendship, ties and families. I also hope ur brother will change for the better. DU30!

    Like

  10. at last i have read the reason 😀
    at first just read first paragraf and what ever everyone have own world and im not your superior
    hope your nephew recover soon

    Like

  11. Wow…. You’re really all out with your promise.. That’s a sad news, hope your nephew get well soon… I know that you only want to make a patreon after chp 400+, but if you really need money, just make a patreon, hope we can help you…

    Like

  12. I really appreciate you translating this story, out of all the wuxia stories and similar themed ones i have read this is by far my favorite and ive been really bummed about the release schedule. So take your time for personal stuff man!

    Like

  13. Its a-ok. At least you gave concrete reasons. I remember years ago and Rox would say he has exams up, so that was 2 weeks of no updates. I was okay with that. But he hasnt given a reason for the last couple of months.

    Like

  14. Don’t push yourself, just take it easy. While the promise is important, your health is important as well. Just make sure your nephew is safe and you’re financial income is good as well. I wish I have the ability to help you out as well.

    Like

  15. You are a great family member, best wishes to you and your nephew. And 1 chapter a day is still amazing and way more then 1 a week or two. Good luck on your job hunt!

    Like

  16. Priorities are always there, lurking in the background. Family first. I agree with an earlier comment in regards to Patreon. I am totally willing, even if it is a chapter a day.

    Like

  17. at least you announce it and gave a concrete reasons than missing. and no we, atleast i do care about your circumstances and i like it more when you share your problem to us.. at least we can give you our mental support and pray that everything gonna be alright
    dont mind it about the chapter..

    Like

  18. This is a completely justifiable situation. Human life, especially family should take priority over keeping randoms on the internet happy. Thanks for letting us know ahead of time, I really appreciate all of your hard work and I sincerely hope that your nephew gets better as fast as possible.

    Like

    1. Its tough. The parents are family and if you report to the authorities, they might take the kid away. By this point of time though, you and the kids have already made attachments to each other, and it is simpler for you and other family to take care of the kids (like in this case) than call authorities.

      Like

  19. So this is what it’s like to have the TL actually communicate with us properly instead of just disappearing and coming back with an excuse lol. Take all the time u need bro.

    Like

    1. Ahh I know how it feels. Nephew is an angelic creature isn’t it? And more so if they’re still little and cute. I think I probably would be panicked and quickly bought my nephew to the nearest hospital and demand them to do whatever it takes to cure them.
      So I wish everything will be fine again for you and your family.
      Also I know this is weird. Even though we Are not doing any proper conversation but I always feel happy whenever the translator put a post about anything in their translation, wether it is about announcement or just simple rant. They’re interesting to read and it makes me feel like I am properly looking at a human works. So thanks for informing us.

      Like

  20. Be cautious of high fevers, they can be extremely dangerous. A high enough fever can easily cause brain damage.

    Like

  21. Keep the good work dude! With your family! Hope your nephew will get better soon enough.

    Just a personal thought, maybe instead of go 1 chapter per day go 5 chapters per week is more realist? I don’t put your efforts and commitement in doubt but unexpected situations are bound to happen. For example, if you posted 5 chapters in a week but were able to translate more, you could release them in the weekend because is Xmas or the heck of it OR you could store them and keep translating so you have always some ‘extra’ chapters you can release in case of dead PC or world’s apocalypse. In the long run, it could give you a bit of peace of mind and settle ungrateful readers shameless enough to complain.

    Just an idea.

    Best regards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks.
      Well, the idea is to reach to chapter 400 and then release a chapter a day with bonus chapters here and there, like as what you said, holidays or just because I’m in a good mood.
      Chapter 400 is pretty much the reason I chose 2 per day, since it’s the end of volume 4 and it’ll kinda feel fresh to start a new volume by myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. All translaters have real life struggles, we fully understand. All we require are little notifications to know whats going down. Do what you can when you can no need to push yourself. Glad you gave us a heads up. You dont have to give full details if you dont want to, but were here for support if you need it

    Like

  23. At least you gave us a heads up and didn’t just up and disappear. Thanks for letting us know and good luck!

    Like

  24. Dont strain yourself to much. Oh, and make your nephew a nice soup by boiling a hole chicken with skin and bones and make a porrige out of it. with a lot of spices it makes for a good taste and is great for recovery. (if you can afford it go for an organic or free farm chicken)

    Like

  25. My Best Wishes for You and your nephew! Also Hot milk + Honey(put togezer in cup) will be of help for the kid! Hope so!

    Like

  26. I hope your nephew will be healthy soon. I feel happy for him having such good uncle 😊.As for chapter releases of course everyone here would like to read daily as much as possible and everybody are grateful for your 2 chapp release till chapp 400 idea .But remember if something unexpected happens and you won’t have time to translate don’t push yourself. Just drop by and tell us about that situation we can wait 😜.So good luck in RL hope you’ll be able to relax soon.

    Like

Leave a comment